Tags

, , , , , ,

By Suzann Sladcik Wilson

Lucky Coin bracelet by Suzann Sladcik Wilson

Lucky Coin bracelet by Suzann Sladcik Wilson

Recently, I received a message from my friend and fellow designer Carmi Cimicata asking if I would be interested in trying Fernando DaSilva’s new book on Chinese knotting called Dazzle-its Lovely Knots. Since I am always willing to learn something new, I was more than happy to give it a shot.

The book has lots of different knots for you to choose from and a large inspiration section in the back of the book. One of the knots and one of the inspiration projects really stood out for me; The Double Coin knot and a skull bracelet using double connection knots.

Double Coin Knot from Fernando DeSilva's book Dazzle-it Lovely Knots

Double Coin Knot from Fernando DaSilva’s book Dazzle-it Lovely Knots

Skull bracelet from Dazzle-its Lovely Knots book.

Skull bracelet from Dazzle-its Lovely Knots book.

 

Lovely Knots Materials

Lovely Knots Materials

Next, I gathered all my materials together. The folks from John Bead were generous in giving us a roll of cord, an instruction book, and a clasp. While I was at the Bead and Button Show, I picked up an extra roll in the Chocolate color. I also used a cork board from my paper quilling set and a some straight pins to be able to create the knot that I had chosen.

I decided to combine the two techniques to create my bracelet.

Lucky Coin Bracelet by Suzann Sladcik Wilson

Lucky Coin Bracelet by Suzann Sladcik Wilson

When I was done, I was pretty pleased with the results. The knotting does take a little getting used to, so allow yourself some time to play with the different techniques.

Is knotting something that you have done before or would like to try? Let me know in the comments!