Tags

, , , ,

By Suzann Sladcik Wilson

Beadsmith 1-Step Looper

Beadsmith 1-Step Looper

Hi everyone! We are getting to the time of year of school starting. I used to love being able to buy all new tools and supplies for the school year. This year, I recommend treating yourself to a new tool, too! Let me introduce you to one of my new favorite pliers – the 1 Step Looper from Beadsmith.

This tool is one that will make your life so much simpler. In the past, it was difficult to have your loops look consistent. When making traditional loops, you need at least two if not three tools – cutters, round nose pliers, and possibly a ruler if you want the length of your head pins cut to exactly the same.

The 1 Step Looper replaces all three tools and gives you consistent loops every time! I have used it with great success on several projects now, including the Caribbean Blue bracelet I made in this earlier post, many pairs of earrings, and in the Loopy for Pink and Pearls set shown below. I did have a couple of loops that I had to redo – but that was mostly because I didn’t hold the bead close enough to the edge of the pliers.

Loopy for Pinks and Pearls by Suzann Sladcik Wilson

Loopy for Pinks and Pearls by Suzann Sladcik Wilson

What is nice is that you can make your own custom eye pins. The 1 Step Looper works with 18 – 24 gauge wire, so it should work for most of your jewelry making needs. Each loop that is created is 1.5mm.

If you need to make bigger loops, Beadsmith has recently introduced the 1 Step Big Looper. These pliers still work with 18-24 gauge wire, but create a loop twice the size – 3mm. I have not tested the 1 Step Big Looper, but I am pretty sure it will give the same fantastic results.

To be able to get your own pair of 1 Step Loopers check with the following sites:

Art Beads

Amazon

Beadaholique

Jo-Ann’s

Rings n’ Things

Here is a You Tube video if you would like to find out more.

Do you have a tool that you love right now? Let me know in the comments!