Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I, Suzann Sladcik Wilson, have tried several times to take metalworking classes. Unfortunately, three out of the four classes had made me want to take my torch and saw blades and promptly list them on e-bay! Even the fourth successful one,  had me scratching my head on why would I want to go to all that hard work when I could just buy stuff ready made. Had I read Candie Cooper’s book Metalworking 1010 for Beaders ahead of time, I would have gone in with a whole different perspective.

The first three chapters of Metalworking 101 for Beaders covers what every beginner needs to know about Metal, Tools & Materials, and Basic Metalworking Techniques. What is nice is the book goes into details that many books just skim over. The Metal chapter talks about different types and shapes of metal and even how to order Sterling Silver. Every tool you might possibly need is explained and pictured in Tools & Materials, along with a checklist of what you will need in your toolbox.

The rest of the Metalworking 101 for Beaders is dedicated to Projects. This is where Candie Cooper’s creativity and phenomenal ability to simply explain seemingly difficult concepts really shines.  The 29 diverse projects will have you breaking out your jeweler’s saw in no time! Some favorite designs are the Midsummer’s Night bracelet and Goldfish in Blue.

This book also comes with two other bonuses. One is many of the projects come with sketches that Candie Cooper made while designing. This gives great insight into the creative process and will inspire readers to possibly try sketching on their own. Second is project templates included right in the back of the book.

After reading Metalworking 101 for Beaders, maybe I might not be auctioning those tools after all. Thanks, Candie!

The generous people at Lark Books are letting me give away a signed copy of Metalworking 101 for Beaders! Leave a comment below about a technique you have wanted to try to expand your beading skills and I will randomly choose a winner on Monday, June 19!